Tri-State Dairy Nutrition Conference: Another Successful Year

Dr. Maurice Eastridge, Dairy Extension Specialist, The Ohio State University

The 2011 Tri-State Dairy Nutrition Conference ( was held April 19-20 in Ft. Wayne, IN at the Grand Wayne Center. This was a monumental year for the Conference in that it was the 20th anniversary. It is hosted annually by Ohio State, Michigan State, and Purdue universities. Attendance was 455 this year, up about 5% from last year, and attendees consisted primarily of feed industry personnel, veterinarians, and university faculty, staff, and students. There were 55 exhibits this year, which was also an increase from last year. The pre-conference program held on Tuesday morning by Elanco Animal Health was well attended. On Tuesday evening, Prince Agri Products hosted the private consultant dinner and Balchem Corp. hosted the veterinary dinner. There were 14 speakers at the Conference, addressing the changes in feeding dairy cows and heifers over the past 20 years and future expectations; transition cow feeding and management; managing the feeding of colostrum and milk to dairy calves; feeding to minimize heat stress; designing feeding systems with robotic milking systems; and forage management.

The undergraduate student presentation contest was held on Tuesday with 9 student participating (2 from Ohio State, 2 from Purdue, and 5 from Michigan State). The graduate students research presentations were held on Tuesday evening with 6 students participating (4 from Ohio State, one from Purdue, and one from Michigan State). Winners of the two student programs are pictured below.

The 2012 Tri-State Dairy Nutrition Conference will be held April 24-25 at the Grand Wayne Center in Ft. Wayne, IN.

Undergrad Winners
Winners of the Undergraduate Presentation Contest (R to L): Alissa Hunter, Ohio State, First Place;
Jessica Shire, Michigan State, Second Place; and Stephanie Neal, Ohio State, Third Place.

Grad Winners

Winners of the Graduate Student Research Presentation Contest (R to L):
Katie Boesche, Ohio State, First Place; Jessica Pempek, Ohio State, Second Place; and Lucien McBeth, Ohio State, Third Place.