Annual Banquet for the Buckeye Dairy Club and the Department of Animal Sciences

Dr. Maurice Eastridge, Dairy Extension Specialist, The Ohio State University

The Annual Banquet for the Buckeye Dairy Club and the Department of Animal Sciences at The Ohio State University was held on May 7 at the Der Dutchman Restaurant in Plain City.  It is held annually for recognizing students for their accomplishments as scholarship recipients, their involvement in co-curricular activities such as the OSU Dairy Cattle Judging Team and the Dairy Challenge, and their activities in the Buckeye Dairy Club; recognition by faculty and staff in the Department of Animal Sciences; and induction of dairy leaders into the Dairy Science Hall of Service. The scholarship winners were: AGS - Clair Jones – Emily Stayduhar; Lemmermen – Kevin Jacque; COBA/Select Sires Wallace Erickson –Matthew Borchers; Dairy Farmers of America – Ashlee Dietz; Wayne and Jane Dalton –Janet Josten; Bob Gano – Colby Brandon and Elizabeth Dean; Genex, Inc., Merle Starr –Margaret Alden; Ohio Agribusiness Association – Rachel Foureman; Salisbury – Melinda Miller; Ludwick – Kirk Massey; McMunn – Katie Stevens and Jamie Watts; Brakel – Emily Dudash and Lara Staples; and H.E. & Florence Kaeser –Laura Gordon and Rixt Miedema.

The recognition to Buckeye Dairy Club members included: Outstanding Freshman – Kayla Hinds; Outstanding Sophomore – Ashlee Dietz; Outstanding Junior – Laura Gordon; Outstanding Senior – Linda Brahler. The Prestigious Member Award (plaque plus $500 scholarship) was granted to Katie Cole. The 2010 officers for the Buckeye Dairy Club are: President – Kelsey Holter; First Vice-President – Rachel Foureman; Second Vice-President – Larissa Deikun; Recording Secretary – Ashlee Dietz; Corresponding Secretary – Kayla Hinds; Treasurer – Kevin Jacque; Assistant Treasurer – Katie Cole; CFAES Student County Representative – Melinda Miller; and Web Page -  Megan Buechner.

Another highlight of the program was the induction of Mr. Lewis Jones into the Dairy Science Hall of Service. Lewis has made major contributions to Ohio’s dairy industry – our THANKS to them for his many years of dedicated service.


Pictured: Dr. Maurice Eastridge, Mr. Lewis Jones, and Lewis’ wife, Carol.