The Ohio State University Receives Several Recognitions During the 2014 Joint Annual Meeting of the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA) and the American Society of Animal Science (ASAS)

Maurice Eastridge, Extension Dairy Specialist, Department of Animal Sciences, The Ohio State University

The 2014 Annual Meetings of ADSA and ASAS were held jointly July 20-24, 2014 in Kansas City, Missouri and also included the Canadian Society of Animal Science. The meetings attracted nearly 80 students and advisors in addition to the more than 3500 professionals and guests from the US, Mexico, Canada, and beyond. Among the many awards announced during the meeting, The Ohio State University faculty and students were certainly in the winners’ court.

Dr. Joe Hogan received the Elanco Award for Excellence in Dairy Science at the awards ceremony of the ADSA Annual Meeting. "The Elanco Award for Excellence in Dairy Science was created to recognize outstanding research in dairy production or manufacturing contributing to improvement or care of dairy cattle, development and improvement of processes, products, equipment, methods, handling, and sanitation."

Dr. Donald Palmquist received the ADSA Distinguished Service Award. "The ADSA Distinguished Service Award was created to recognize unusually outstanding and consistent contributions to the welfare of the dairy industry, either directly or indirectly. The award is based upon a broad, even nonscientific, contribution. Thus, outstanding achievements by those in industry, public administration, or academic administration qualify.”

Dr. Normand St-Pierre received the DeLaval Dairy Extension Award at the ADSA Annual Meeting. "The DeLaval Dairy Extension Award was created to recognize outstanding achievements in dairy Extension. The winner must have made a valuable and noteworthy contribution to the dairy industry through dairy Extension in the broad areas of production, manufacturing, marketing, and youth work."

The Ohio State Academic Quadrathlon (AQ) team won the national ASAS Undergraduate Academic Quadrathlon competition at the joint meeting! The competition was held July 20-21 in Kansas City, Missouri. Congratulations goes to Garth Ruff, Joey Brown, Keirsten Harris, and Logan Morris, as well as AQ advisor Dr. Joe Ottobre.

The Ohio State Dairy Product Development Team from the Department of Food Science and Technology won first place during the competition held during the ADSA meeting. The product developed by the team was Trifle Au Lait. Team members included Anastasia Purgianto, Hardy Castada, Liz Green, Sara Burcham, Alex Milligan, and Ty Thammakulkrajang.

Rachel Townsley, a dairy 4-H member from Champaign County, is majoring in food science at Ohio State and she works in the Animal Sciences Extension office. During the 2013 summer, she was a research intern for Dr. Kristy Daniels in Wooster. Rachel won the ADSA undergraduate original research poster competition, presenting her research on “Health of Holstein bull calves fed a fermentation extract of Aspergillus Oryzae”.